Electoral Divisions Named After Women

Updated: 15 October 2018
(SA) Named after the city of Adelaide which in turn was named after Queen Adelaide, wife of William IV
(VIC) Tilly Aston (1873–1947), blind writer and teacher, helped found the library of Victorian Association of Braille Writers in 1894
(VIC) Caroline Chisholm (1808–1877), noted social worker and advocate of immigration to New South Wales
(WA) Named after Edith Cowan (1861–1932) the first female member of an Australian parliament, being elected to the Western Australia Legislative Assembly as the Member for West Perth 1921–1924
(VIC) Louisa Dunkley (1866–1927), founder of the Victorian Women's Post and Telegraph Association in 1900 and campaigner for equal pay for women
(QLD) Ruth Fairfax (1878–1948), a founder of the Country Women's Association and its first Queensland President
(NSW) Lilian Fowler (1887–1954), first woman alderman in New South Wales 1929–1948 and first woman mayor in Australia 1938–39, Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly 1944–1950
(NSW) Dame Mary Gilmore (1865–1962), a well known poet, author and journalist
(VIC) Vida Goldstein (1869–1949), suffragist and feminist
(WA) Named after Sir Paul Hasluck (1905–1993), Diplomat, Cabinet Minister and Governor General, and his wife Dame Alexandra Hasluck (1908–93) who, in addition to being a noted author, also held office as National President of the Girl Guides Association and the Australian Red Cross while at Government House in Canberra
(QLD) Irene Longman (1877–1964), first female Member of the Queensland Parliament 1929–1932, and third woman elected to a parliament in Australia
(TAS) Named after Joseph Lyons (1879–1939), and Dame Enid Lyons (1897–1981). Joseph Lyons was Prime Minister from 1932–1939. Dame Enid was the first woman elected to the House of Representatives 1943 and the first woman to reach cabinet rank as vice-president of the Executive Council 1949
(NSW) Elizabeth Macarthur (1769–1850) following the 2000 redistribution of NSW the division was rededicated to honour Elizabeth Macarthur as well as John Macarthur (1767–1834) in recognition of both of their contributions to the development of New South Wales
(NSW) Dorothea Mackellar (1885–1968), famous Australian poet and novelist
(SA) Helen Mayo (1878–1967), founder of the Mothers and Babies Health Association 1927, first woman elected to a University Council in Australia 1914, co-founder of St Anne's College, University of Adelaide
(QLD) Gladys Moncrieff (1892–1976), light opera and musical comedy singer
(QLD) Named after Dame Annabelle Rankin (1908–1986), first Queensland woman elected to the Senate 1946–1971 and the first Australian woman to hold a top-level diplomatic post as High Commissioner to New Zealand 1971–1974
(WA) Dame Dorothy Tangney (1911–1985), first woman Senator in Australia 1943–1968
(QLD) Judith Wright (1915–2000), made a significant contribution to Australia as a social and environmental activist, and poet. She was a resident of Queensland for over 30 years, 20 of which were spent at Mt Tamborine, which is located within the boundaries of this division.
Back to top