Profile of the electoral division of Fowler (NSW)

Updated: 22 March 2022
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1984 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named in honour of Elizabeth Lilian Maud Fowler MBE, 1887–1954. Fowler was the first woman mayor in Australia (1938–39). The division was so named to also honour the contribution of women to local government.
60 sq km
Location Description:
Fowler covers an area from Chipping Norton, Lansvale and Fairfield East in the east to Liverpool, Bonnyrigg (part), Edensor Park and Abbotsbury in the west. The southern boundary extends south along Newbridge Road, Georges River, the Western Motorway, Liverpool Street, Calabro Avenue and Park Road. The northern boundary follows Fairfield Street, Pine Road, Prospect Creek, Orphan School Creek, King Road, Polding Street, Mimosa Road, The Horsley Drive, Cowpasture Road and part of the western boundary of Abbotsbury. Suburbs include Abbotsbury, Bonnyrigg (part), Bossley Park (part), Cabramatta, Cabramatta West, Canley Heights, Canley Vale, Carramar, Chipping Norton, Edensor park (part), Fairfield East, Greenfield Park (part), Lansvale, Liverpool, Mount Pritchard, Prairiewood (part), Wakeley and Warwick Farm.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Demographic rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: