Profile of the electoral division of Rankin (Qld)

Updated: 19 November 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1984 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Rankin (2018) [PDF 984KB]
Map of the Division of Rankin (2017) [PDF 2.29MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Dame Annabelle Jane Mary Rankin DBE, 1908–86, first Queensland woman elected to the Senate (1947–71) and the first Australian woman to hold a top-level diplomatic post as High Commissioner to New Zealand (1971–74).
131 sq km
Location description

The Division of Rankin consists of:

  • part of the Brisbane City Council, and
  • part of the Logan City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details