Profile of the electoral division of Chisholm (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Chisholm (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of Chisholm (2018) [PDF 2.82MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Caroline Chisholm, 1808–77. Chisholm was known for her work in encouraging emigration to Australia, her social work in New South Wales and Victoria, paticularly with immigrant girls, and the buidling of a series of shelter sheds along the routes to the diggings in the Victorian goldfields.
65 sq km
Location description

The Division of Chisholm consists of:

  • part of the Monash City Council, and
  • part of the Whitehorse City Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Light and heavy industries including warehouses and metal, transport, education, and retail.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

  • Banks, J (LP) 2016–
  • Burke, A (ALP) 1998–2016
  • Wooldridge, M (LP) 1987–1998
  • Mayer, H (ALP) 1983–1987
  • Harris, G M (LP) 1980–1983
  • Staley, A A (LP) 1970–1980
  • Hughes, W S K (LP) 1949–1970
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top