Profile of the electoral division of Gilmore (NSW)

Updated: 02 April 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1984 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Name in honour of Dame Mary Jean Gilmore DBE, 1865–1962. Gilmore was a noted poet and prose writer.
6 342 sq km
Location Description:
Gilmore covers an area along the coast from Kiama in the north to Tuross Head in the south. Towns and suburbs include Bawley Point, Batemans Bay, Berry, Callala Bay, Cunjurong, Currarong, Fishermans Paradise, Gerroa, Kiama, Malua Bay, Mogo, Moruya, Nowra, Sussex Inlet, Tomerong, Tuross Head, and Ulladulla.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Products/industries of the area:
Tourism, timber, dairy and beef cattle, paper mill, brickworks, light engineering, dairy products, steel fabrication and fishing.
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Sudmalis, A (LP) 2013–
  • Gash, J (LP) 1996–2013
  • Knott, P J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Sharp, J R (NP) 1984–1993
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
Back to top