Profile of the electoral division of Tangney (WA)

Updated: 1 April 2019
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
19 January 2016
First election this name was used at:
1974 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Map of Division:
Name derivation:
Named in honour of Dame Dorothy Margaret Tangney DBE, 1907–85. As a Senator for Western Australia (1943–68), Tangney was the first woman member of the Senate.
83 sq km
Location description:
Tangney is bordered by the Swan and Canning Rivers to the north and east. It contains most of the City of Melville, a part of the City of Canning and a small portion of the City of Cockburn. The suburbs include Alfred Cove, Applecross, Ardross, Attadale, Bateman, Bicton, Booragoon, Brentwood, Bull Creek, Ferndale, Kardinya (part), Leeming (part), Lynwood, Melville, Mount Pleasant, Murdoch, Myaree, Parkwood, Riverton, Rossmoyne, Shelley, Willagee, Willetton and Winthrop.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Industries include light industrial, retail, commercial, medical, education and recreation.
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Morton, B (LP) 2016–
  • Jensen, D (LP) 2004–2016
  • Williams, D (LP) 1993–2004
  • Shack, P D (LP) 1984–1993
  • Gear, G (ALP) 1983–1984
  • Shack, P D (LP) 1977–1983
  • Richardson, P (LP/IND) 1975–1977
  • Dawkins, J S (ALP) 1974–1975
AEC contact:
Tangney Divisional Office
Back to top