Profile of the electoral division of Durack (WA)

Updated: 30 June 2022
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
02 August 2021
First election this name was used at:
2010 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Durack (2021) [PDF 3.23MB]

Map of the Division of Durack (2021) [PDF 6.55MB]

Download Western Australia GIS data

Name Derivation:

Named to honour succeeding generations of the Durack family who were pioneers and developers of the Kimberley region, including:

  • Patrick Durack, 1834–98, who took up land on the Ord River in the East Kimberley in 1882,
  • W J Durack who worked as a doctor in the Marble Bar and Murchinson district and was the first to diagnose leprosy in the Aboriginal people of this area,
  • Michael Patrick Durack, 1865–1950, who promoted the development of the northern parts of Western Australia,
  • Dame Mary Gertrude Durack DBE AC, 1913–94, the author and historian who wrote about the outback, Australian settlers, the history of missionaries in Western Australia and her family's struggles and achievements as pioneers in the Kimberley region,
  • Elizabeth Durack OBE, 1915–2000, the artist whose works capture remote parts of north and central Western Australia,
  • Kimberley Michael Durack, 1917–1968, who established the Ord River Research Station, which led to irrigated farming around Kununurra, and
  • Peter Drew Durack, 1926–2008, who was a Senator for Western Australia (1971–1993) and introduced the Freedom of Information Act.
1,383,954 sq km
Location description

The Division of Durack consists of:

  • Ashburton Shire Council,
  • Broome Shire Council,
  • Carnamah Shire Council,
  • Carnarvon Shire Council,
  • Chapman Valley Shire Council,
  • Chittering Shire Council,
  • Coorow Shire Council,
  • Cue Shire Council,
  • Dalwallinu Shire Council,
  • Dandaragan Shire Council,
  • Derby-West Kimberley Shire Council,
  • Dowerin Shire Council,
  • East Pilbara Shire Council,
  • Exmouth Shire Council,
  • Gingin Shire Council,
  • Goomalling Shire Council,
  • Greater Geraldton City Council,
  • Halls Creek Shire Council,
  • Irwin Shire Council,
  • Karratha City Council,
  • Meekatharra Shire Council,
  • Mingenew Shire Council,
  • Moora Shire Council,
  • Morawa Shire Council,
  • Mount Magnet Shire Council,
  • Murchison Shire Council,
  • Northam Shire Council,
  • Northampton Shire Council,
  • Perenjori Shire Council,
  • Port Hedland Town Council,
  • Sandstone Shire Council,
  • Shark Bay Shire Council,
  • Three Springs Shire Council,
  • Toodyay Shire Council,
  • Upper Gascoyne Shire Council,
  • Victoria Plains Shire Council,
  • Wongan-Ballidu Shire Council,
  • Wyndham-East Kimberley Shire Council,
  • Yalgoo Shire Council,
  • York Shire Council, and
  • part of the Swan City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.