Profile of the electoral division of McEwen (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1984 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of McEwen (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of McEwen (2018) [PDF 9.91MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of the Rt Hon. Sir John McEwen GCMG CH, 1900–80. McEwen was Prime Minister of Australia (1967–68) and a Member of the House of Representatives (1934–71).
2,670 sq km
Location description

The Division of McEwen consists of:

  • part of the Hume City Council,
  • part of the Macedon Ranges Shire Council,
  • part of the Mitchell Shire Council,
  • part of the Nillumbik Shire Council, and
  • part of the Whittlesea City Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Cattle grazing, wool growing, market gardening, wines, dairying, various small businesses and tourism.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

  • Mitchell, R (ALP) 2010–
  • Bailey, F (LP) 1996–2010
  • Cleeland, P R (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Bailey, F E (LP) 1990–1993
  • Cleeland, P R (ALP) 1984–1990
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top