Profile of the electoral division of Indi (Vic)

Updated: 30 June 2022
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
26 July 2021
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Indi (2021)

Map of the Division of Indi (2021) [PDF 6.48MB]

Download Victoria GIS data

Name Derivation:
Named after an Aboriginal name for the Murray River.
29,187 sq km
Location description

The Division of Indi consists of:

  • Alpine Shire Council,
  • Benalla Rural City Council,
  • Indigo Shire Council,
  • Mansfield Shire Council,
  • Murrindindi Shire Council,
  • Towong Shire Council,
  • Wangaratta Rural City Council,
  • Wodonga City Council,
  • part of the Strathbogie Shire Council,
  • part of the Yarra Ranges Shire,
  • the unincorporated area of Falls Creek Alpine Resort,
  • the unincorporated area of Lake Mountain Alpine Resort,
  • the unincorporated area of Mount Buller Alpine Resort,
  • the unincorporated area of Mount Hotham Alpine Resort, and
  • the unincorporated area of Mount Stirling Alpine Resort.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.