Profile of the electoral division of Bendigo (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Bendigo (2018) [PDF 1.01MB]
Map of the Division of Bendigo (2018) [PDF 1.98MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after the city covered by the electoral division. The city is named after a Ravenswood shepherd who was nicknamed 'Bendigo' after an English pugilist, Abednego William Thompson.
5,496 sq km
Location description

The Division of Bendigo consists of:

  • Greater Bendigo City Council,
  • Mount Alexander Shire Council,
  • part of the Macedon Ranges Shire Council, and
  • part of the Mitchell Shire Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Administrative, commercial and educational. Farming, agricultural and viticultural, gold mining and other extractive industries.
Demographic Rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

  • Chesters, L (ALP) 2013–
  • Gibbons, S (ALP) 1998–2013
  • Reid, B (LP) 1990–1998
  • Brumby, J M (ALP) 1983–1990
  • Bourchier, J W (LP) 1972–1983
  • Kennedy, A D (ALP) 1969–1972
  • Beaton, N L (ALP) 1960–1969
  • Clarey, P J (ALP) 1949–1960
  • Rankin, G J (ST CP/UCP/CP) 1937–1949
  • Harrison, E F (UAP) 1931–1937
  • Kean, R V (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Hurry, G (NAT) 1922–1929
  • Hughes, W M (NAT) 1917–1922
  • Hampson, A J (ALP) 1915–1917
  • Arthur, J A (ALP) 1913–1914
  • Quick, J (PROT/IND PROT/LIB) 1901–1913
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top