Profile of the electoral division of Eden-Monaro (NSW)

Updated: 02 April 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the two areas in which the electoral division is located. The name 'Monaro' is variously believed to be:
  • derived from the Aboriginal work 'Maneroo', meaning plain, or
  • an Aboriginal word meaning 'the navel' or 'a woman's breasts'.
41 617 sq km
Location Description:
Eden-Monaro covers an area from Yass, Murrumbateman and Bungendore in the north and south to the Victorian border, excluding the Australian Capital Territory. The main towns include Adaminaby, Adelong, Batlow, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Cabramurra, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Murrumbateman, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Talbingo, Tathra, Tumbarumba, Tumut and Yass.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Products/industries of the area:
Timber industries, beef cattle, sheep and wool, dairy farming, dairy products and mixed farming. The Snowy Mountains Hydroelectric Scheme, snowfields and tourism are important industries for this division.
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Kelly, M (ALP) 2016–
  • Hendy, P (LP) 2013–2016
  • Kelly, M (ALP) 2007–2013
  • Nairn, G (LP) 1996–2007
  • Snow, J H J (ALP) 1983–1996
  • Sainsbury, M E (LP) 1975–1983
  • Whan, R B (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Fraser, A D (ALP) 1969–1972
  • Munro, D R (LP) 1966–1969
  • Fraser, A D (ALP) 1943–1966
  • Perkins, J A (UAP) 1931–1943
  • Cusack, J J (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Perkins, J A (NAT) 1926–1929
  • Chapman, A (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1901–1926
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
Back to top