How to vote

Updated: 4 January 2019

All Australian citizens over the age of 18 who are enrolled to vote, elect people to represent them in the two houses of the Commonwealth Parliament – the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Information about how to vote is available in other languages.

The House of Representatives

Australia is divided into areas called electoral divisions. Voters in each electoral division cast a vote to elect one person (a Member of Parliament) to represent them in the House of Representatives.

The Senate

Voters in each state and territory elect Senators to represent them in the Senate. States have 12 Senators and the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory each have 2 Senators.


At a referendum, you will receive a ballot paper with the proposed alteration to the Constitution.

Back to top