Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) elections

Updated: 22 May 2020

2020 TSRA elections postponed

On 16 April 2020, the Minister for Indigenous Australians, the Hon Ken Wyatt MP, announced that – in light of the COVID-19 pandemic – TSRA elections that were to be held by July 2020 had been postponed and must now be held no later than 31 March 2021. See the Torres Strait Regional Authority (Postponement of Election) Instrument 2020 issued by the Minister here.


The TSRA Board consists of 20 elected members who are Torres Strait Islander or Aboriginal people living within a ward in the region. The election is held every four years. The 20 wards are:

  • Badu Island, Bamaga, Boigu Island, Dauan Island, Erub Island, Hammond Island, Iama Island, Kubin, Mabuiag Island, Masig Island, Mer Island, Ngurapai and Muralag, Port Kennedy, Poruma Island, Saibai Island, Seisia, St Pauls, TRAWQ, Ugar Island and Warraber Island.

All Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people enrolled within a contested ward who are 18 years of age and over are eligible to vote.

The most recent general election for the TSRA Board was conducted on Saturday 30 July 2016.

More information about the operations of the TSRA can be found on the Torres Strait Regional Authority’s website.

Results of TSRA elections

Contact information

Mr David Stuart, Returning Officer
Australian Electoral Commission
Floor 2, Commonwealth Centre
104 Grafton St, Cairns City
Telephone: 07 3834 3431 or 0427 691 014

Torres Strait Regional Authority
46 Victoria Parade, Thursday Island
Telephone: 07 4069 0700
Toll-free: 1800 079 093
Fax: 07 4069 1879
Email: Governance&

Back to top