2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Curtin (WA)

Updated: 8 July 2016
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
19 January 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Map of Division:
Name derivation:
Named after John Curtin 1885–1945, Prime Minister of Australia 1941–45.
98 sq km
Location description:
Curtin covers an area west of Perth, bordered by the Indian Ocean in the west and the Swan River in the south. The suburbs include Churchlands, City Beach, Claremont, Cottesloe, Crawley, Daglish, Dalkeith, Doubleview, Floreat, Glendalough, Herdsman, Innaloo, Jolimont, Karrakatta, Karrinyup (part), Mount Claremont, Mosman Park, Osborne Park (part), Nedlands, Peppermint Grove, Scarborough (part), Shenton Park, Swanbourne, Subiaco, West Leederville, Wembley, Wembley Downs and Woodlands.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Industries include medical, education, retail, recreation, light industrial, professional services, commercial, and hospitality.
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Bishop, J (LP) 1998–
  • Rocher, A (LP/IND) 1981–1998
  • Garland, R V (LP) 1969–1981
  • Hasluck, P M C (LP) 1949–1969
AEC contact:
Curtin Divisional Office