2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Curtin (WA)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Western Australia
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Map of Division:
A4 map of the Division of Curtin (2008) [PDF 120KB]
Map of the Division of Curtin (2008) [PDF 3.1MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after John Curtin 1885–1945, Prime Minister of Australia 1941–45.
Area and Location Description:
Curtin covers an area of approximately 104 sq km west of Perth, bordered by the Indian Ocean In the west and the Swan River in the south. The main suburbs include Churchlands, City Beach, Claremont, Cottesloe, Crawley, Dalkeith, Daglish, Doubleview (part), Floreat, Glendalough, Jolimont, Leederville, Mosman Park, Mount Claremont, Mount Hawthorn, Nedlands, North Perth (part), Osborne Park (part), Peppermint Grove, Scarborough (part), Shenton Park, Subiaco, Swanbourne, Wembley, Wembley Downs, West Leederville, West Perth (part) and Woodlands.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Mainly residential and recreational, light retail and hospitality. University of Western Australia is in the south-east of the division.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Bishop, J (LP) 1998–
Rocher, A (LP/IND) 1981–1998
Garland, R V (LP) 1969–1981
Hasluck, P M C (LP) 1949–1969
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Curtin
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Curtin
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Curtin
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.