2010 federal election: Profile for the electoral division of Curtin

Updated: 25 October 2011




Western Australia

Contact details:

Contact the Curtin Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after John Curtin 1885–1945, Prime Minister of Australia 1941–45.

Area and Location Description:

Curtin covers an area of approximately 104 sq km west of Perth, bordered by the Indian Ocean In the west and the Swan River in the south. The main suburbs include Churchlands, City Beach, Claremont, Cottesloe, Crawley, Dalkeith, Daglish, Doubleview (part), Floreat, Glendalough, Jolimont, Leederville, Mosman Park, Mount Claremont, Mount Hawthorn, Nedlands, North Perth (part), Osborne Park (part), Peppermint Grove, Scarborough (part), Shenton Park, Subiaco, Swanbourne, Wembley, Wembley Downs, West Leederville, West Perth (part) and Woodlands.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly residential and recreational, light retail and hospitality. University of Western Australia is in the south-east of the division.

First Proclaimed/Election:




Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Bishop, J (LP) 1998–
  • Rocher, A (LP/IND) 1981–1998
  • Garland, R V (LP) 1969–1981
  • Hasluck, P M C (LP) 1949–1969

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.