2004 Profile of the division of Boothby

Updated: 29 September 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after William Boothby 1829–1903, the Returning Officer for the first election of Members of the House of Representatives in 1901.

Area and Location Description:

Boothby covers an area of approximately 123 sq km from Clarence Gardens and Urrbrae in the north to Marino in the south. The main suburbs include Belair, Blackwood, Brighton, Daw Park, Eden Hills, Marion, Mitcham, Seacliff, St Marys and Panorama.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Car manufacturing, army camp and military barracks, several hospitals, a number of nursing homes, and various small industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • SOUTHCOTT, A (LP) 1996–
  • HALL, R S (LP) 1981–1996
  • MCLEAY, J E (LP) 1966–1981
  • MCLEAY, J (LP/LCL/LP) 1949–1966
  • SHEEHY, T N (ALP) 1943–1949
  • PRICE, A G (UAP) 1941–1943
  • PRICE, J L (ALP/UAP) 1928–1941
  • DUNCAN-HUGHES, J (LIB/NAT) 1922–1928
  • STORY, W H (NAT) 1917–1922
  • DANKEL, G (ALP) 1913–1917
  • GORDON, D J (LIB) 1911–1913
  • BATCHELOR, E L (ALP) 1903–1911

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 95 339
  • Informal Vote: 4.41%
  • Turnout: 94.59%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 55.37% | ALP: 44.63%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.

Back to top