2001 Profile of the division of Grey

Updated: 9 February 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir George Grey (1812–1898), Governor of South Australia (1841–1845).

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 897 822 sq km from Tarlee in the south, north to the border with Northern Territory and Queensland, west to the Western Australia border which includes all of the west coast of South Australia and east to the New South Wales border.

The main towns include Ceduna, streaky Bay, Port Lincoln, Whyalla, Port Augusta, Roxby Downs, Coober Pedy, Port Pirie, Orroroo, Peterborough, Calare, Eudunda.

Products/Industries of the area:

Lead smelting, steel industry, tourism,fishing (Port Lincoln is the site of the largest commercial fishing fleet in the southern hemisphere), oil, gas, opals, jade, iron ore, uranium, wheat, cattle, wool, wines, forestry, salt and slate.

First Proclaimed



  • Barry Wakelin (LP) 1993–
  • L R T O'Neil (ALP) 1983–93
  • L Wallis (ALP) 1969–83
  • D Jessop (LP) 1966–69
  • J Mortimor (ALP) 1963–66
  • E H D Russell (ALP) 1949–63
  • A O Badman (UAP/CP) 1937–49
  • P A M McBride (UAP) 1931–37
  • A W Lacey (ALP) 1922–31
  • A Poynton (FT/ALP/NAT) 1903–22

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 82 921

Informal Vote: 4.21%

Turnout: 94.64%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 41.96%
  • LP: 58.04%

Enrolment: 86 900

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.86%
  • Preamble Question 0.96%


  • Republic Question 94.49%
  • Preamble Question 94.50%

Enrolment: 85 745

Informal Vote: 4.57%

Turnout: 94.6%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 39.44%
  • LP: 60.56%
Back to top