Profile of the electoral division of O'Connor (WA)

Updated: 1 April 2019
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
19 January 2016
First election this name was used at:
1980 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Map of Division:
Name derivation:
Named in honour of Charles Yelverton O'Connor, 1843–1902. In 1891, O'Connor became Western Australia's engineer-in-chief and was responsible for designing Fremantle Harbour and the pipeline which supplies Kalgoorlie and other goldfields with water.
868,576 sq km
Location description:
O'Connor covers a large area from the Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku in the north to the Shire of Dundas in the south following the coast west to Manjimup. The Division includes the Cities of Albany and Kalgoorlie-Boulder, and the Shires of Boyup Brook, Bridgetown-Greenbushes, Brookton, Collie, Coolgardie, Corrigin, Denmark, Dundas, Esperance, Kondinin, Laverton, Manjimup, Ngaanyatjarraku, Wandering and Williams.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Industries include agriculture, fishing, forestry, aquaculture, mining and tourism.
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Wilson, R (LP) 2013–
  • Crook, T (NP) 2010–2013
  • Tuckey, W (LP) 1980–2010
AEC contact:
O'Connor Divisional Office
Back to top