Profile of the electoral division of Monash (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
2019 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Monash (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of Monash (2018) [PDF 5.12MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Sir John Monash CB(M) KCB(M) GCMG, 1865–1931. Monash was one of the foremost Allied military commanders of the First World War and was recognised for his outstanding contributions to the community.
8,879 sq km
Location description

The Division of Monash consists of:

  • Bass Coast Shire Council,
  • South Gippsland Shire Council,
  • part of the Cardinia Shire Council,
  • part of the Latrobe City Council,
  • part of the Baw Baw Shire Council, and
  • the unincorporated area of Mount Baw Baw Alpine Resort.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Dairy farming, agriculture, wineries, fishing, construction, food services, manufacturing, transportation and tourism.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website


The first member for Monash will be elected at the next federal general election.

AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top