Profile of the electoral division of Melbourne

Updated: 30 June 2022
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
26 July 2021
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Melbourne (2021)

Map of the Division of Melbourne (2021) [PDF 1.54MB]

Download Victoria GIS data

Name Derivation:
Named after the City of Melbourne. The settlement of Port Phillip was named 'Melbourne' on 5 March 1837 in honour of Lord Melbourne who was the Prime Minister of Great Britain at the time.
40 sq km
Location description

The Division of Melbourne consists of:

  • part of the Melbourne City Council,
  • part of the Moreland City Council, and
  • part of the Yarra City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.