Profile of the electoral division of La Trobe (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of La Trobe (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of La Trobe (2018) [PDF 5.73MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Charles Joseph La Trobe, 1801–75. La Trobe was the first Lieutenant-Governor of the Colony of Victoria (1851–54).
748 sq km
Location description

The Division of La Trobe consists of:

  • part of the Cardinia Shire Council,
  • part of the Casey City Council, and
  • part of the Yarra Ranges Shire Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Agriculture and horticulture, including dairy and beef farming and vegetable production, construction, education and training, retail and tourism.
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

  • Wood, J (LP) 2013–
  • Smyth, L (ALP) 2010–2013
  • Wood, J (LP) 2004–2010
  • Charles, B (LP) 1990–2004
  • Milton, P (ALP) 1980–1990
  • Baillieu, M (LP) 1975–1980
  • Lamb, A H (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Jess, J D (LP) 1960–1972
  • Casey, R G (LP) 1949–1960
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top