Profile of the electoral division of Jagajaga (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1984 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Jagajaga (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of Jagajaga (2018) [PDF 4.17MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of the three principal Aboriginal elders who signed a treaty with John Batman in 1835 which intended to give the white settlers 500,000 acres of land at the north-west end of Port Phillip Bay and 100,000 acres around Geelong.
104 sq km
Location description

The Division of Jagajaga consists of:

  • Banyule City Council, and
  • part of the Nillumbik Shire Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Commercial and light industrial area which includes construction, and retail trade.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

  • Macklin, J (ALP) 1996–
  • Staples, P R (ALP) 1984–1996
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top