Profile of the electoral division of Gorton (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
2004 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Gorton (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of Gorton (2018) [PDF 3.82MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of the Rt Hon. Sir John Grey Gorton GCMG AC CH, 1911-2002. Gorton was Prime Minister of Australia (1968–71), a Senator for Victoria (1949–68) and a Member of the House of Representatives (1968–75).
540 sq km
Location description

The Division of Gorton consists of:

  • Melton City Council, and
  • part of Brimbank City Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Harness racing, horse training and breeding facilities, retail, construction, health care, transport and warehousing.
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

  • O'Connor, B (ALP) 2004–
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top