Profile of the electoral division of Ballarat (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Ballarat (2018) [PDF 775KB]
Map of the Division of Ballarat (2018) [PDF 9.44MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after the city covered by the electoral division. The name of the city is believed to be derived from the Aborignal word 'balaarat' meaning resting place or reclining on elbow.
4,322 sq km
Location description

The Division of Ballarat consists of:

  • Ballarat City Council,
  • Hepburn Shire Council, and
  • Moorabool Shire Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Agriculture and farming including beef cattle, sheep, fruit and vegetable production, gold mining, education and training, professional, scientific and technical services, health care, tourism and retail.
Demographic Rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

  • King, C (ALP) 2001–
  • Ronaldson, M (LP) 1990–2001
  • Mildren, J B (ALP) 1980–1990
  • Short, J R (LP) 1975–1980
  • Erwin, G D (LP) 1955–1975
  • Joshua, R (ALP) 1951–1955
  • Pittard, A C (LP) 1949–1951
  • Pollard, R T (ALP) 1937–1949
  • Fisken, A C W (UAP) 1934–1937
  • McGrath, D C (ALP/UAP) 1920–1934
  • Kerby, E T J (NAT) 1919–1920
  • McGrath, D C (ALP) 1913–1919
  • Deakin, A (PROT/LIB) 1901–1913
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top