Profile of the electoral division of Kingston (SA)

Updated: 9 July 2019
South Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
20 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Kingston (2018) [PDF 662KB]
Map of the Division of Kingston (2018) [PDF 2.05MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Charles Cameron Kingston, 1850–1908. Kingston was an active member of the Constitutional Conventions that led to the Commonwealth of Australia and a Member of the House of Representatives (1901–08).
165 sq km
Location description

The Division of Kingston consists of:

  • part of the City of Marion, and
  • part of the City of Onkaparinga
Products/Industries of the Area:
Construction, clothing, desalination plant, engineering, major retailing, optical lenses and various light industries
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Rishworth, A (ALP) 2007–
  • Richardson, K (LP) 2004–2007
  • Cox, D (ALP) 1998–2004
  • Jeanes, S (LP) 1996–1998
  • Bilney, G N (ALP) 1983–1996
  • Chapman, H G P (LP) 1975–1983
  • Gun, R (ALP) 1969–1975
  • Brownbill, K C M (LP) 1966–1969
  • Galvin, P (ALP) 1951–1966
  • Handby, H H (LP) 1949–1951
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top