Profile of the electoral division of Hindmarsh (SA)

Updated: 9 July 2019
South Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
20 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1903 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Hindmarsh (2018) [PDF 911KB]
Map of the Division of Hindmarsh (2018) [PDF 2.41MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Sir John Hindmarsh KH RN, 1785–60. Hindmarsh was the first Governor of the Colony of South Australia (1836–38).
122 sq km
Location description

The Division of Hindmarsh consists of:

  • part of the City of Charles Sturt,
  • part of the City of Port Adelaide Enfield, and
  • part of the City of West Torrens
Products/Industries of the Area:
Aviation, cement, commercial fishing, electricity generation, flour mills, grain bulk handling, heavy engineering, major retailing, manufacturing industry, motion picture production, numerous sporting venues, petroleum storage, police academy, shipping, small industries, stevedoring, tourism, warship & submarine construction, waste disposal and wool stores.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Georganas, S (ALP) 2016–
  • Williams, M (LP) 2013–2016
  • Georganas, S (ALP) 2004–2013
  • Gallus, C (LP) 1993–2004
  • Scott, J L (ALP) 1980–1993
  • Cameron, C R (ALP) 1949–1980
  • Thompson, A V (ALP) 1946–1949
  • Makin, N J O (ALP/FLP/ALP) 1919–1946
  • Archibald, W O (ALP/NAT) 1910–1919
  • Hutchison, J (ALP) 1903–1909
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top