Profile of the electoral division of Flynn (Qld)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
2007 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Flynn (2018) [PDF 1.30MB]
Map of the Division of Flynn (2017) [PDF 7.23MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of the Reverend John Flynn OBE, 1880–1951, founder of the Royal Flying Doctor Service, who, in the early days of flying and also of radio harnessed both to the relief of suffering and the saving of lives in the remote regions of Queensland and, ultimately, Australia.
132,824 sq km
Location description

The Division of Flynn consists of:

  • Banana Shire Council,
  • Central Highlands Regional Council,
  • Gladstone Regional Council,
  • North Burnett Regional Council,
  • Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • part of the Bundaberg Regional Council,
  • part of the Rockhampton Regional Council, and
  • part of the South Burnett Regional Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Primary production including coal, oil, gas, orchards, cotton, grain and cattle. The Port of Gladstone is a major export facility for the area.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
O'Dowd, K (LNQ) 2010–
Trevor, C (ALP) 2007–2010
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Back to top