Profile of the electoral division of Dawson (Qld)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Dawson (2018) [PDF 2.41MB]
Map of the Division of Dawson (2017) [PDF 4.10MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Andrew Dawson, 1863–1910, Premier of Queensland (1899–1903).
14,630 sq km
Location description

The Division of Dawson consists of:

  • part of the Burdekin Shire Council,
  • part of the Mackay Regional Council,
  • part of the Townsville City Council, and
  • part of the Whitsunday Regional Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Various small crops, prawn and fish farms, sugar growing and refining, beef cattle, coal mining related industries, abattoirs and tourism.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Christensen, G (LNQ) 2010–
Bidgood, J (ALP) 2007–2010
Kelly, D (NP) 1996–2007
Braithwaite, R A (NP) 1975–1996
Patterson, R A (ALP) 1966–1975
Shaw, G W (CP) 1963–1966
Davidson, C W (CP) 1949–1963
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Back to top