Profile of the electoral division of Capricornia (Qld)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Capricornia (2018) [PDF 836KB]
Map of the Division of Capricornia (2017) [PDF 5.73MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in recognition of the Tropic of Capricorn.
90,903 sq km
Location description

The Division of Capricornia consists of:

  • Isaac Regional Council,
  • Livingstone Shire Council,
  • part of the Mackay Regional Council,
  • part of the Rockhampton Regional Council, and
  • part of the Whitsunday Regional Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Primary production, grains, beef cattle, grazing, fishing, coal mining, meat works, dairy products and tourism.
Demographic Rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Landry, M (LNQ) 2013–
Livermore, K (ALP) 1998–2013
Marek, P (NP) 1996–1998
Henzell, M M (ALP) 1993–1996
Wright, K W (ALP) 1984–1993
Everingham, D N (ALP) 1977–1984
Carige, C L (NCP) 1975–1977
Everingham, D N (ALP) 1967–1975
Gray, G H (ALP) 1961–1967
Pearce, H G (LP) 1949–1961
Davidson, C W (LP) 1946–1949
Forde, F M (ALP) 1922–1946
Higgs, W (ALP) 1910–1922
Archer, E W (ANTI-SOC) 1906–1910
Thomson, D A (ALP) 1903–1906
Paterson, A (IND) 1901–1903
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Back to top