Profile of the electoral division of Bonner (Qld)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
2004 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Bonner (2018) [PDF 858KB]
Map of the Division of Bonner (2017) [PDF 3.07MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Neville Thomas Bonner AO, 1922–99, an elder of the Jagera people, in recognition of his service as a Senator for Queensland (1971–83) and leader of indigenous Australia.
374 sq km
Location description

The Division of Bonner consists of:

  • part of the Brisbane City Council, and
  • part of the Redland City Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Industries include tourism, transport, manufacturing and retail. The Port of Brisbane is located in Bonner as are light industrial areas in Murarrie, Hemmant and Lytton.
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Vasta, R (LNQ) 2010–
Rea, K (ALP) 2007–2010
Vasta, R (LP) 2004–2007
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Back to top