Profile of the electoral division of Whitlam (NSW)

Updated: 9 July 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
2016 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named in honour of the Hon. Edward Gough Whitlam AC QC, 1916–2014. Whitlam was Prime Minister of Australia (1972–75) and a Member of the House of Representatives (1952–78).
1 331 sq km
Location Description:
Whitlam covers an area from Fitzroy Falls, Robertson and Dunmore in the south to Lake Avon, Alpine, Welby, Kembla Grange and Primbee in the north. In the east follows the coast from Primbee to Shell Cove and in the west Sutton Forest and Werai (part). The main localities include Alpine, Berrima, Bowral, Dapto, Dunmore, Fitzroy Falls, Kembla Grange, Mittagong, Moss Vale, Primbee, Robertson, Shellharbour, Sutton Forest, Unanderra, Welby and Werai (part).
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Products/industries of the area:
Mining, engineering, light and heavy manufacturing, transport, tourism, construction, dairy farming and retail industries.
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Jones, S (ALP) 2010– (Note: following the 2016 redistribution the Division of Throsby became the Division of Whitlam.)
  • George, J (ALP) 2001–2010
  • Hollis, C (ALP) 1984–2001
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
Back to top