Profile of the electoral division of Mitchell (NSW)

Updated: 02 April 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named in honour of Sir Thomas Livingstone Mitchell, 1792–1855. Mitchell was a noted surveyor, who built and improved many roads in New South Wales, and an explorer who conducted several expeditions throughout south-eastern Australia. These expeditions included following the courses of the Darling, Lachlan and Murray Rivers.
101 sq km
Location Description:
Mitchell covers an area from Nelson and Box Hill in the northwest to Northmead and North Rocks in the southeast. The main suburbs include Baulkham Hills, Beaumont Hills, Bella Vista, Box Hill, Castle Hill, Kellyville, Nelson, Northmead, North Rocks, Rouse Hill, Winston Hills and West Pennant Hills.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Products/industries of the area:
Commercial and business services, light industry, education and retail.
Demographic rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Hawke, A (LP) 2007–
  • Cadman, A (LP) 1974–2007
  • Ashley-Brown, A (ALP) 1972–1974
  • Irwin, L H (LP) 1963–1972
  • Armitage, J L (ALP) 1961–1963
  • Wheeler, R C (LP) 1949–1961
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
Back to top