Profile of the electoral division of Dobell (NSW)

Updated: 02 April 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1984 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named in honour of Sir William Dobell OBE, 1899–1970. Dobell was a prominent Australian painter and portrait artist who won the Archibald Prize in 1943.
787 sq km
Location Description:
Dobell covers an area from Ravensdale in the north to Erina Heights in the south. The main towns include Bateau Bay, Berkeley Vale, Blue Haven, Chittaway Bay, Charmhaven, Dooralong, Erina Heights (part), Gorokan, Hamlyn Terrace, Jilliby, Kanwal, Killarney Vale, Kulnura (part), Lake Haven, Lisarow (part), Long Jetty, Magenta, Mardi, Narara (part), Niagara Park (part), Norah Head, Noraville, Ourimbah, Ravensdale, Tacoma, The Entrance, Toowoon Bay, Toukley, Tuggerah, Tuggerawong, Tumbi Umbi, Wallarah, Wamberal (part), Warnervale, Woongarrah, Wyoming, Wyong, Wyong Creek and Yarramalong.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Products/industries of the area:
Fruit, vegetables, manufacturing industries, prawning, fishing, tourism and mixed farming.
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • McBride, E (ALP) 2016–
  • McNamara, K (LP) 2013–2016
  • Thomson, C (ALP) 2007–2013
  • Ticehurst, K (LP) 2001–2007
  • Lee, M (ALP) 1984–2001
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
Back to top