Profile of the electoral division of Cunningham (NSW)

Updated: 02 April 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named in honour of Allan Cunningham, 1791–1839. Cunningham was a botanist who accompanied many explorations along Australia's east coast and is credited with discovering Pandora's Pass, the Darling Downs and Cunningham's Gap.
519 sq km
Location Description:
Cunningham covers an area from Warrawong, Unanderra (part) and Farborough Heights in the south to Helensburgh in the north. The main towns include Balgownie, Bellambi, Bulli, Corrimal, Darkes Forest, Fairy Meadow, Farmborough Heights, Helensburgh, Maddens Plains, Mount Keira, Mount Kembla, Otford, Port Kembla, Scarborough, Stanwell Park, Unanderra (part), Warrawong and Wollongong.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Products/industries of the area:
Wollongong is the commercial centre of the Illawarra, servicing tourism, tertiary education, steel production, coal mining, brick manufacturing and textiles.
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Bird, S (ALP) 2004–
  • Organ, M (GRN) 2002–2004
  • Martin, S (ALP) 1993–2002
  • West, S J (ALP) 1977–1993
  • Connor, R F X (ALP) 1963–1977
  • Kearney, V D (ALP) 1956–1963
  • Davies, W (ALP) 1949–1956
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
Back to top