Profile of the electoral division of Calare (NSW)

Updated: 02 April 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1906 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the Aboriginal name for the Lachlan River.
32 666 sq km
Location Description:
Calare covers an area from Lithgow in the east to Eugowra in the west, Wellington and Mid-Western Regional Councils in the north to Blayney Shire Council and Oberon Council in the south. The main cities and towns include Bathurst, Blayney, Canowindra, Eugowra, Gulgong, Kandos, Lithgow, Molong, Oberon, Orange, Mudgee, Portland, Rylstone, Wallerawang and Yeoval.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Products/industries of the area:
Mining, mixed farming, fruit, timber, vineyards, meat and wool processing, transport, tourism, light engineering, white goods manufacturing, tertiary education services, agricultural and pastoral support.
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Gee, A (NP) 2016–
  • Cobb, J (NP) 2007–2016
  • Andren, P (IND) 1996–2007
  • Simmons, D W (ALP) 1983–1996
  • MacKenzie, A J (NCP/NP) 1975–1983
  • England, J A (CP/NCP) 1960–1975
  • Howse, J B (LP) 1946–1960
  • Breen, J P (ALP) 1940–1946
  • Thorby, H V (CP) 1931–1940
  • Gibbons, G A (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Howse, N R (NAT) 1922–1929
  • Lavelle, T J (ALP) 1919–1922
  • Pigott, H R M (LIB/NAT) 1913–1919
  • Brown, T (ALP) 1906–1913
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
Back to top