Profile of the electoral division of Barton (NSW)

Updated: 23 March 2022
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1922 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named in honour of the Rt Hon. Sir Edmund Barton GCMG KC, 1849–1920. Barton was an active member of the Constitutional Conventions that led to the Commonwealth of Australia, the first Prime Minister of Australia (1901–03), a Member of the House of Representatives (1901–03) and a Justice of the High Court (1903–20).
40 sq km
Location Description:
Barton covers an area from Canterbury Road, Sydenham Bankstown Railway and the Good Railway in the north, to the Illawarra Railway line, Jubilee Avenue, Princess Highway and President Avenue in the south, Kingsgrove Road, the M5 and King Georges Road in the west to Cooks River and Botany Bay in the east. The main suburbs include Bexley, Brighton-Le-Sands, Campsie (part), Canterbury (part), Carlton (part), Earlwood, Hurlstone Park (part), Hurstville, Kingsgrove (part), Kyeemagh, Marrickville (part), Rockdale, Tempe and Wolli Creek.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: