Profile of the electoral division of Canberra (ACT)

Updated: 19 November 2019
Australian Capital Territory
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Canberra (2018) [PDF 2.47MB]
Map of the Division of Canberra (2018) [PDF 5.35MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
A locality name derived from an Aboriginal word which is held to mean 'meeting place'.
312 sq km
Location description

The Division of Canberra covers an area in central ACT consisting of the Districts of:

  • Canberra Central,
  • Kowen,
  • Majura,
  • part of Belconnen,
  • part of Jerrabomberra,
  • part of Molonglo Valley,
  • part of Weston Creek, and
  • part of Woden Valley
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.