Western Australian Senators have been decided

Updated: 20 June 2022

The Australian Electoral Commission has announced that the count for the election of six Senators for Western Australia was completed today.

The successful candidates for the six Senate vacancies are (in order of their election):

  1. LINES, Sue – Labor
  2. CASH, Michaelia – Liberal
  3. STERLE, Glenn – Labor
  4. SMITH, Dean – Liberal
  5. COX, Dorinda – The Greens
  6. PAYMAN, Fatima – Labor

The Australian Electoral Officer for Western Australia, Ms Gina Dario, said the distribution of preferences was conducted today.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates,” Ms Dario said.

All 2022 federal election results are available on the AEC’s tally room.

Invitation: Formal declaration of the result

Ms Dario said the formal declaration of the result for the 2022 election of Senators for Western Australia will take place at 12.00pm on Tuesday 21 June. It will be held at Karda Meeting Room Ground Level, 197 St Georges Tce, Perth.

All candidates and the media are welcome to attend. While RSVPs are not required you will need to attend slightly in advance of the starting time in order to sign in.