Queensland Senators have been decided

Updated: 17 June 2022

The Australian Electoral Commission has announced that the count for the election of six Senators for Queensland was completed today.

The successful candidates for the six Senate vacancies are (in order of their election):

  1. McGRATH, James – Liberal National Party of Queensland
  2. Watt, Murray – Australian Labor Party
  3. CANAVAN, Matt – Liberal National Party of Queensland
  4. ALLMAN-PAYNE, Penny – The Greens
  5. HANSON, Pauline – Pauline Hanson’s One Nation
  6. CHISHOLM, Anthony – Australian Labor Party

The Australian Electoral Officer for Queensland, Ms Stephanie Attard, said the distribution of preferences was conducted today.
“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates,” Ms Attard said.

All 2022 federal election results are available on the AEC’s tally room at aec.gov.au/results.

Invitation: Formal declaration of the result

Ms Attard said the formal declaration of the result for the 2022 election of Senators for Queensland will take place at 10am on Monday 20 June. It will be held at Christie Conference Spaces, Room F, Level 1, 320 Adelaide Street, Brisbane.

All candidates and the media are welcome to attend. While RSVPs are not required you will need to attend slightly in advance of the starting time in order to sign in.