Tasmanian Senators have been decided

Updated: 16 June 2022

The Australian Electoral Commission has announced that the count for the election of six Senators for Tasmania was completed today.

The successful candidates for the six Senate vacancies are (in order of their election):

  1. DUNIAM, Jonno – Liberal
  2. URQUHART, Anne – Australian Labor Party
  3. WHISH-WILSON, Peter – The Greens
  4. POLLEY, Helen – Australian Labor Party
  5. ASKEW, Wendy – Liberal
  6. TYRRELL, Tammy – Jacqui Lambie Network

The Australian Electoral Officer for the Tasmania, Ms Hannah Brown, said the distribution of preferences was conducted today.
“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates,” Ms Brown said.

All 2022 federal election results are available on the AEC’s tally room at aec.gov.au/results.

Invitation: Formal declaration of the result

Ms Brown said the formal declaration of the result for the 2022 election of Senators for Tasmania will take place at 3pm on Friday 17 June and will be held at The Marina Room Hobart Function and Conference Centre, 1 Elizabeth Street Pier, Hobart.

All candidates and the media are invited to attend. While RSVPs are not required you will need to attend slightly in advance of the starting time in order to sign in.