South Australian Senators have been decided

Updated: 15 June 2022

The Australian Electoral Commission has announced that the count for the election of six Senators for South Australia was completed today.

The successful candidates for the six Senate vacancies are (in order of their election):

  1. BIRMINGHAM, Simon – Liberal
  2. WONG, Penny – Australian Labor Party
  3. McLACHLAN, Andrew - Liberal
  4. FARRELL, Don – Australian Labor Party
  5. POCOCK, Barbara – The Greens
  6. LIDDLE, Kerrynne - Liberal

The Australian Electoral Officer for South Australia, Mr Cameron Stokes, said the distribution of preferences was conducted today.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates,” Mr Stokes said.

All 2022 federal election results are available on the AEC’s tally room at

Invitation: Formal declaration of the result

Mr Stokes said the formal declaration of the result for the 2022 election of Senators for South Australia will take place at 3pm on Thursday 16 June. It will be held at the AEC’s office on Level 9, 1 King William Street, Adelaide.

All candidates and the media are welcome to attend. While RSVPs are not required you will need to attend slightly in advance of the starting time in order to sign in.