Western Australian redistribution indicative timetable

Updated: 3 June 2021

This is an indicative timetable and is subject to change. Dates will be updated as the redistribution progresses.

1

Step 1 – commencement

Direction to commence redistribution

15 July 2020
2

Step 2 – public suggestions

Call for suggestions to the redistribution

Wednesday 23 September 2020

Suggestions period closes

6pm AWST Friday 23 October 2020

Suggestions made available for viewing

Monday 26 October 2020
3

Step 3 – comments on suggestions

Comments on suggestions are able to be made

Monday 26 October 2020

Comments on suggestions period closes

6pm AWST Friday 6 November 2020

Comments on suggestions available for viewing

November 2020

Redistribution Committee convenes to consider proposed electoral divisions

November 2020 to March 2021
4

Step 4 – objections to the proposed redistribution

Proposed redistribution report released

9am AWST Friday 19 March 2021

Call for objections to the proposed redistribution

Friday 19 March 2021

Objections period closes

6pm AWST Friday 16 April 2021

Objections available for viewing

Monday 19 April 2021
5

Step 5 – comments on objections

Comments on objections are able to be made

Monday 19 April 2021

Comments on objections period closes

6pm AWST Friday 30 April 2021

Comments on objections available for viewing

Monday 3 May 2021
5A

Step 5A – Inquiry into objections

Augmented Electoral Commission holds an inquiry into objections

Friday 21 May 2021
6

Step 6 – announcement of final electoral divisions

Augmented Electoral Commission meets to determine electoral divisions

May 2021

Augmented Electoral Commission announces electoral divisions

Friday 4 June 2021

Further objection period (if required)

Not required
7

Step 7 – determination

Augmented Electoral Commission makes determination of electoral divisions

2 August 2021

Report is tabled in Parliament

After determination

Report is made publicly available

After tabling
Back to top