Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) elections

2020 TSRA election

On 19 August 2020, the Minister for Indigenous Australians, the Hon Ken Wyatt MP, published a notice in the Gazette fixing polling day for the 2020 TSRA election as Saturday 28 November 2020. See Notices in relation to the 2020 Torres Strait Regional Authority Election, published by the Minister, here. Further information on the elections will be placed on this page as it comes to hand.

The TSRA Board consists of 20 elected members who are Torres Strait Islander or Aboriginal people living within a ward in the region. The election is held every four years. The 20 wards are:

  • Badu Island, Bamaga, Boigu Island, Dauan Island, Erub Island, Hammond Island, Iama Island, Kubin, Mabuiag Island, Masig Island, Mer Island, Ngurapai and Muralag, Port Kennedy, Poruma Island, Saibai Island, Seisia, St Pauls, TRAWQ, Ugar Island and Warraber Island.

All Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people enrolled within a contested ward who are 18 years of age and over are eligible to vote.

The most recent general election for the TSRA Board was conducted on Saturday 30 July 2016.

More information about the operations of the TSRA can be found on the Torres Strait Regional Authority’s website.


Candidates must be nominated before they can be elected to the TSRA. Nominations open on Tuesday 29 September 2020 and close at 5pm on Wednesday 28 October 2020. The Returning Officer must receive completed nomination forms by this time, or they will not be accepted.

Information sessions

If you are interested in nominating as a candidate for the 2020 TSRA election, it is recommended that you attend an information session. These have been scheduled for each ward. If you are unable to attend an information session contact the Returning Officer.

2020 TSRA Information Sessions for Potential Candidates
Day/Date Ward Session Venue
21 Sep 2020
Boigu 10.30am 12pm Boigu Community Hall
Mabuiag 1.30pm 3pm Mabuiag Community Hall
22 Sep 2020
Erub 10.30am 12pm TSIRC Office Conference Room
Ugar 1.30pm 3pm Ugar Community Hall
23 Sep 2020
Saibai 10.30am 12pm Bistro Undercover Area
Poruma 1.30pm 3pm Poruma Community Hall
24 Sep 2020
Iama 10.30am 12pm Iama Community Hall
Badu 2pm 3.30pm TSIRC Office Conference Room
Port Kennedy 6pm 7.30pm Thursday Island Boat Club
26 Sep 2020
Ngurapai and Muralag 10.30am 12pm Wongai Beach Hotel Conference Room
TRAWQ 2pm 3.30pm Tamwoy Community Hall
28 Sep 2020
Masig 10.30am 12pm TSIRC Office
Warraber 1.30pm 3pm Warraber Community Hall
29 Sep 2020
St Pauls 10am 11.30am St Pauls Community Hall
Kubin 1.30pm 3pm Kubin Community Hall
30 Sep 2020
Bamaga 10am 11.30am NPA Family & Community Services Conference Room
Seisia 1pm 2.30pm Seisia Fishing Club
1 Oct 2020
Hammond Island 10.30am 12pm Hammond Island Community Hall
All wards 6pm 7.30pm Thursday Island Boat Club
2 Oct 2020
Mer 9.30am 11am Mer Community Hall
Dauan 2pm 3.30pm Dauan Community Hall


To be eligible to vote in the 2020 TSRA election, you must:

  • be a Torres Strait Islander or an Aboriginal person
  • be 18 years of age or older on polling day
  • be enrolled on the Commonwealth Electoral Roll for an address in a ward by 5pm on Friday 13 November 2020.

Postal voting

If you are unable to vote at a polling booth on polling day or at a mobile polling booth, you can apply to have your ballot paper sent to you in the mail.

Once your application is completed, it must be returned to the Returning Officer. Your postal vote application must be received by the Returning Officer by the last mail clearance on Thursday 26 November 2020. It is recommended you return your completed application as early as possible to allow sufficient time for the voting material to be sent to you for completion. It is recommended you email the completed application form to if possible.


The AEC is implementing a number of measures to protect the health of community members and staff.

The AEC has developed a COVID-19 Work Health and Safety Service Plan to oversee election delivery and ensure appropriate processes are in place so that nominations and voting are conducted in a safe way.

Contact information

Mr David Stuart, Returning Officer
Australian Electoral Commission
Cairns Address: Level 2, Commonwealth Centre
104 Grafton St, Cairns City
Postal address: PO Box 5024
Cairns QLD 4870
Telephone:  07 3834 3431 or 0427 691 014
Fax: 02 6293 7667

Torres Strait Regional Authority
Address: Level 1 Torres Strait Haus
46 Victoria Parade
Thursday Island
Telephone: 07 4069 0700
Toll-free: 1800 079 093
Fax: 07 4069 1879

More information

Nomination forms, PVAs and the Election Guide can also be obtained from the Returning Officer and the Torres Strait Regional Authority. 

Results of TSRA elections

Updated: 15 September 2020
Back to top