2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Tangney (WA)

Updated: 8 July 2016
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
19 January 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Map of Division:
Name derivation:
Named after Dame Dorothy Tangney 1911–85, first woman member of the Australian Senate 1943–68.
83 sq km
Location description:
Tangney is bordered by the Swan and Canning Rivers to the north and east. It contains most of the City of Melville, a part of the City of Canning and a small portion of the City of Cockburn. The suburbs include Alfred Cove, Applecross, Ardross, Attadale, Bateman, Bicton, Booragoon, Brentwood, Bull Creek, Ferndale, Kardinya (part), Leeming (part), Lynwood, Melville, Mount Pleasant, Murdoch, Myaree, Parkwood, Riverton, Rossmoyne, Shelley, Willagee, Willetton and Winthrop.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Industries include light industrial, retail, commercial, medical, education and recreation.
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Jensen, D (LP) 2004–
  • Williams, D (LP) 1993–2004
  • Shack, P D (LP) 1984–1993
  • Gear, G (ALP) 1983–1984
  • Shack, P D (LP) 1977–1983
  • Richardson, P (LP/IND) 1975–1977
  • Dawkins, J S (ALP) 1974–1975
AEC contact:
Tangney Divisional Office