2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Whitlam (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Edward Gough Whitlam AC QC (1916–2014), Prime Minister of Australia 1972–1975.
1 331 sq km
Location Description:
Whitlam covers an area from Fitzroy Falls, Robertson and Dunmore in the south to Lake Avon, Alpine, Welby, Kembla Grange and Primbee in the north. In the east follows the coast from Primbee to Shell Cove and in the west Sutton Forest and Werai (part). The main localities include Alpine, Berrima, Bowral, Dapto, Dunmore, Fitzroy Falls, Kembla Grange, Mittagong, Moss Vale, Primbee, Robertson, Shellharbour, Sutton Forest, Unanderra, Welby and Werai (part).
Products/industries of the area:
Mining, engineering, light and heavy manufacturing, transport, tourism, construction, dairy farming and retail industries.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
The first member for the Division of Whitlam will be elected at the 2016 federal election

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website to contact the Member for Throsby.
  • Jones, S (ALP) 2010– (Note: following the 2016 redistribution the Division of Throsby became the Division of Whitlam.)
  • George, J (ALP) 2001–2010
  • Hollis, C (ALP) 1984–2001
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: