2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Werriwa (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the Aboriginal name for Lake George, which was located in the division in 1901.
172 sq km
Location Description:
Werriwa covers an area from Badgerys Creek, Cecil Hills and Bonnyrigg (part) in the north, to Denham Court, Bardia, Macquarie Links and Macquarie Fields in the south. Bounded by the Georges River, South Western Motorway, Liverpool Street, Calabro Avenue, Hoxton Park Road and Maxwells Creek to the east and Bringelly Road, The Northern Road, the western boarder of Badgerys Creek and Oaky Creek to the west. The main suburbs include Ashcroft, Austral, Badgerys Creek, Bardia, Bonnyrigg Heights, Bringelly, Cartwright, Casula, Cecil Hills, Cecil Park, Denham Court, Edmondson Park, Elizabeth Hills, Glenfield, Green Valley, Heckenberg, Hinchinbrook, Horningsea Park, Hoxton Park, Long Point, Lurnea, Macquarie Fields, Macquarie Links, Prestons and West Hoxton.
Products/industries of the area:
Manufacturing, retail, health care services and industries
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Ferguson, L (ALP) 2010–
  • Hayes, C (ALP) 2005–2010
  • Latham, M (ALP) 1994–2005
  • Kerin, J C (ALP) 1978–1993
  • Whitlam, E G (ALP) 1952–1978
  • Lazzarini, H P (ALP) 1934–1952
  • McNicoll, W R (CP) 1931–1934
  • Lazzarini, H P (ALP) 1919–1931
  • Lynch, J (ALP/NAT) 1914–1919
  • Conroy, A H (LIB) 1913–1914
  • Bennett, B H (ALP) 1912–1913
  • Hall, D R (ALP) 1906–1912
  • Conroy, A H (FT) 1901–1906
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: