2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Parramatta (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the locality of Parramatta which was first settled in 1788. The name is Aboriginal for 'plenty of eels' or 'head of river'.
57 sq km
Location Description:
Parramatta covers an area from Carlingford (part) and Rydalmere in the east to Toongabbie and South Wentworthville in the west. The main suburbs include Carlingford (part), Constitution Hill, Dundas, Granville, Harris Park, Holroyd, Merrylands, Mays Hill, Oatlands, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta, Pendle Hill, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Telopea, Toongabbie, South Wentworthville, Wentworthville and Westmead
Products/industries of the area:
Retail, financial services, transport industry, building materials, major industry, tourism and higher education with the Western Sydney University's Parramatta campus.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Owens, J (ALP) 2004–
  • Cameron, R (LP) 1996–2004
  • Elliott, R P (ALP) 1990–1996
  • Brown, J J (ALP) 1977–1990
  • Ruddock, P M (LP) 1973–1977
  • Bowen, N H (LP) 1964–1973
  • Barwick, G E (LP) 1958–1964
  • Beale, O H (LP) 1946–1958
  • Stewart, F H (UAP) 1931–1946
  • Rowe, A E (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Bowden, E K (NAT) 1922–1929
  • Pratten, H E (NAT) 1921–1922
  • Cook, J (FT/ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1901–1921
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: