2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Newcastle (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the city of Newcastle which was named by Governor King in 1804.
171 sq km
Location Description:
Newcastle covers an area from the Hunter River and the Rail Trai in the north, Minmi in the west and Newcastle Link Road, Lake Road, Reservoir Road, Wallsend Road, Newcastle Inner City Bypass, the Main Northern Railway line, Marshall Street and Main Road in the south and the coast from Merrewether to Stockton in the east. The main suburbs include Adamstown, Broadmeadow,Cardiff Heights, Carrington, Elemore Vale, Fletcher, Jesmond, Kooragang, Kotara, Lambton, Maryland, Merewether, Minmi, Newcastle, New Lambton, Sandgate, Shortland, Stockton, Waratah and Wallsend.
Products/industries of the area:
Ship-building and repairs, transport equipment, tourism, tertiary education, food-processing, railway goods, chemicals and heavy engineering. Newcastle is the second largest city in NSW and is a busy port, handling imports and exports.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Claydon, S (ALP) 2013–
  • Grierson, S (ALP) 2001–2013
  • Morris, A (ALP) 1983–2001
  • Jones, C K (ALP) 1958–1983
  • Watkins, D O (FLP/ALP) 1935–1958
  • Watkins, D (ALP/FLP) 1901–1935
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: