2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of New England (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the area of New England, the largest highland area in Australia.
66 394 sq km
Location Description:
New England covers an area from the Queensland border in the north to Merriwa, Aberdeen and Scone in the south. The main towns include Aberdeen, Armidale, Ashford, Barraba, Bingara, Glenn Innes, Guyra, Inverell, Manilla, Merriwa, Murrurundi, Nundle, Quirindi, Satur, Scone, Tamworth, Tenterfield, Tingha, Urbenville and Walcha.
Products/industries of the area:
Cattle, sheep, grain, forestry, dairying, oats, maize, fruit, vegetables, tin-mining, bricks, trout hatchery, tourism, concrete pipe works, leather goods, tannery, gemstones, tobacco, lucerne, honey, grain processing, rubber industry, plaster works and concrete.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Joyce, B (NP) 2013–
  • Windsor, T (IND) 2001–2013
  • St Clair, S (NP) 1998–2001
  • Sinclair, I (CP/NCP/NP) 1963–1998
  • Drummond, D H (CP) 1949–1963
  • Abbott, J P (CP) 1940–1949
  • Thompson, V C (CP) 1922–1940
  • Hay, A (NAT & FARMERS/CP/IND) 1919–1922
  • Abbott, P P (LIB/NAT) 1913–1919
  • Foster, F J (ALP) 1906–1913
  • Lonsdale, E (FT) 1903–1906
  • Sawers, W B S C (PROT) 1901–1903
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: